Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / TRENDING / Top Polytechnics in Nigeria 2017

Top Polytechnics in Nigeria 2017


There are several top polytechnics in Nigeria, consisting of both private and public, which offers quality education to the constantly expanding youth populace of Nigeria. To illustrate this, we have decided to expand on the best polytechnics in Nigeria.

In Nigeria today, polytechnics are being considered by students as an option to further their education unlike in the past where attending a university was a do or die affair. The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) in recent times get a huge amount of applications every year for entrance into polytechnics due to students not wanting to sit idle at home while their colleagues are furthering their education.

There are a significant number of good polytechnics in Nigeria. In any event, each State in Nigeria has one Polytechnic to its name. In case you’re experiencing considerable difficulties choosing the Polytechnic to apply to or you’re searching for the top polytechnics in the nation, at that point, this post should prove to be useful. In the below sections, we have given a nitty gritty rundown of best polytechnics in Nigeria.

In no particular order, these are 10 best polytechnics in Nigeria

1. Auchi Polytechnic

Auchi Polytechnic is located in Edo state, Nigeria. Auchi Polytechnic has produced many top Nigerian researchers, and the school is also home to a few national awards. Auchi Polytechnic, popularly called Auchi Poly, won the Polytechnic Expo in 2008, and in 2012 it came first in best designs and fabrications.

READ  Netflix magic market number larger than big cable company’s magic market number

Auchi Polytechnic was set up in 1963 by the Edo State Government and in 1994, The Federal Government of Nigeria took control over its affairs. Auchi Poly is viewed by some Nigerians as the best polytechnic in Nigeria. It has seven faculties which house several departments.

2. Yaba College of Technology

Yaba College of Technology is situated in Yaba, Lagos State. It is popularly known as YABATECH and it was set up in 1947.

YABATECH is a unique school. Aside from National Diplomas (ND) and Higher National Diplomas (HND), it offers B.Sc (Ed) courses in Technical and Vocational Education and Post Graduates Diploma in Engineering. The two programmes are run in conjunction with the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and the Federal University of Technology, Akure. You can decide to be a part-time student if you don’t have the time to study as a full-time student.

A huge number of YABATECH lecturers are leading professors in their respective fields. Students go through the required training and graduate as proficient individuals with enough skillets to navigate them through their chose fields.

3. Federal Polytechnic, Nekede

The Federal Polytechnic, Nekede is situated in Nekede town, near Ihiagwa, Imo state. It was built up in 1978 as a College of Technology before it was turned into a Federal Polytechnic in 1993. The school is touted to have exceptional lecturers who shape students into brilliant individuals.

The Polytechnic comprises of a School of Engineering Technology, School of Environmental Design and Technology, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, School of Industrial and Applied Sciences, and School of Business Management Technology

The school puts an extraordinary premium on innovative research and hands-on procedures. It offers National Diploma and Higher National Diploma courses at undergrad levels.

READ  Divide And Conquer - A Review of Ed Sheeran's New Album "Divide"

4. The Polytechnic, Ibadan

The Polytechnic, Ibadan is also called POLYIBADAN. The main campus of this school is found just adjacent to the University of Ibadan, UI with both tertiary establishments sharing the same entryway. POLYIBADAN had four other satellite campuses in the time past but they now remain all alone, having advanced into an independent Polytechnic.

The polytechnic was initially made in 1970 as a successor to the Technical College, Ibadan. Since 1975 it has been functioning as a standalone Polytechnic.

5. Lagos State Polytechnic

The Lagos State Polytechnic, otherwise called LASPOTECH, is owned by the Lagos State Government and it is located in Ikeja, the Lagos State Capital. LASPOTECH has a few faculties to learn from which includes Agriculture, Engineering, Management and Business Studies, Pure and Applied Sciences, and so forth

6. Osun State Polytechnic

The Osun State Polytechnic was second to Auchi Polytechnic in the past but has lost that position now. Nevertheless, it is still regarded as one of the best Polytechnics in Nigeria.

The institution is located in Iree, and was formerly a satellite campus of the Polytechnic, Ibadan. It became an independent institution on the 12th of October 1992. The Osun State Polytechnic has a daily part time program which it runs at its Koko campus.

The polytechnic has seven faculties which contain several departments from which one can choose any desired course of study. The faculties consist of: Information and Communication, Engineering, Financial Studies, Environmental Studies, Management Studies, Basic Sciences, and Sciences.

7. Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro

The Federal Polytechnic Ilaro, located in Ilaro Ogun State, has present day structures which bolster students’ learning. It additionally has an advanced library and a student’s office where students can discover answers to questions in regards to their academic lives.

READ  New Year resolutions - Find out What Should Be Different.

8. Imo State Polytechnic, Umuagwo

The Imo State Polytechnic, located in Umuagwo, Ohaji/Egbema LGA Imo State,  was set up in 1978 as Michael Okpara College of Agriculture. Regardless, in 2007, it was raised to the status of a Polytechnic.

The Polytechnic provides courses, training and research which spans across all branches of Agriculture, Management Sciences, Engineering and Food Sciences. It issues National Diploma and Higher National Diploma certificates to its graduates depending on the programme enrolled. Students can choose between studying for Full-time or Part-time depending on their schedule.

9. Federal Polytechnic, Oko

The Federal Polytechnic Oko was initially created by the Anambra State Government as a College of Arts and Science in 1979 but was later elevated to as a College of Arts, Science and Technology in June 1980. It got confirmed as a government polytechnic in 1993.

The polytechnic has a main campus ground at Oko with two other campuses at Ufuma and Atani. The school has a lively social life as well. There are 8 faculties to pick your desired course from.

10. Kaduna Polytechnic

Kaduna Polytechnic, otherwise called KADPOLY,  is situated in Tudun Wanda LGA, Kaduna state and was set up in 1956. There are 5 faculties from which to pick a course of study which includes the College of Business and Management Studies (CBMS), College of Environmental Studies (CES), College of Engineering (COE), College of Science and Technology (CST), and the College of Administrative Studies and Social Sciences (CASSS). It offers ND and HND undergrad programs.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar